National Technical Honor Society Induction

View more photos from National Technical Honor Society Induction Ceremony

The Seneca Highlands Career and Technical Center inducted 18 new members into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) at a ceremony on Thursday, April 27 at 1:00 p.m.

The NTHS is an educational non-profit that exists to honor, recognize, and empower students in career and technical education. The welcome and qualifications were given by James Young, director of the Seneca Highlands Career and Technical Center. The guest speaker was Mrs. Sharon Horvath, vice president of the Port Allegany Women’s Club and co-owner of The Inn on Maple Street in Port Allegany. The co-advisors of the NTHS are Mrs. Risha Johnson, special education facilitator/co-op coordinator and Mrs. Kimberly Mooney, early childhood education program teacher.

To be considered a candidate for the honor society, students at the Seneca Highlands Career and Technical Center must be in the 11th or 12th grade and have not less than a 93% average in the first three marking periods in their program of study. Students must also maintain a 3.0 GPA at their sending schools and be approved by their instructor, sending district principal, and career and technical center director. Finally, there is a committee that reviews the qualifications of all applicants.

Students must maintain the standards of scholastic achievement, skill development, good character, leadership, honesty, and responsibility to be considered for membership in the honor society. The Seneca Highlands Career and Technical Center is committed to recognizing students who have shown excellence in both academic and technical subjects.

Returning members lit candles to represent the seven attributes of NTHS, and then the induction of candidates with the presentation of honor cords took place. Refreshments were created and served by the culinary arts program under the direction of Chef Paul Farmelo.

Group photo of inducted and returning members for 2023

The following list is both inducted and returning members for 2023.

NTHS Inductees

  • Abram Austin - OEHS - Building Construction
  • Olivia Barth - PAHS - Early Childhood
  • Seth Benson - PAHS - Culinary
  • Nickolas Brown - OEHS - Heavy Equipment
  • Madison Conn - SAHS - Early Childhood
  • Paige Crum-Threadgill - PAHS - Early Childhood
  • Levi Culver - PAHS - Networking
  • Blair Dickinson - SAHS - Early Childhood
  • Elexis Hagans - OVHS - Early Childhood
  • Bennett Harris - SAHS - Welding
  • Kristopher Herbert - PAHS - Networking
  • Dawson Hooftallen - AAHS - Building Construction
  • McKenzie Hurd - CAHS - Early Childhood
  • Alexis Kemp - OVHS - Early Childhood
  • Kole Kisko - PAHS - Heavy Equipment
  • Kendra McGarvey-Smoker - PAHS - Homeland Security
  • Harlee-Ann Panighetti - OEHS - Heavy Equipment
  • Alissa Wright - NPHS - Early Childhood

Returning Members

  • Maya Kephart - PAHS - Health Assistant
  • Faith Miller - SAHS - Health Assistant
  • Blaine Moses - PAHS - Heavy Equipment
  • Sierria Peters - PAHS - Health Assistant
  • Mikya Stake - PAHS - Homeland Security
  • Camerynn Stambaugh - PAHS - Health Assistant
  • Kyle Worthington - NPHS - Engineering

Congratulations once again as we give accolades to our National Technical Honor Society members for 2023!

View All News Articles